Crumpled Binder Paper

When I meet you

there will be a crumpled

piece of binder paper

in my back pocket.

It will have cursive

scribbled in blank ink

listing all of the realities

I have witnessed on Earth.

 

When I meet you

I presume there will

be glass droplets rolling

out of the inside corners

of my eyes

and there will be a metal

tennis ball of sorts

in my throat

making it difficult to speak.

This is why there will be a crumpled piece of binder paper in my back pocket.

Because when I meet you

there will need to be a way

for me to unlock

all the knowledge the universe

has kept secret

and I will find that key in

my back pocket

where the binder paper is.

 

Because in cursive

scribbled in black ink

will be a list of truths:

Black woman raped by white man

Powerful politician lied

Gay man roped to a fence

Mexican woman murdered

Teenager beaten to death

Child kidnapped by father

Government executed citizen

Chinese woman enslaved as concubine

 

And when I meet you

with glass droplets in my eyes

and a metal ball in my throat

I will reach into my back pocket

and slip the crumpled binder paper

into your hand

and all you’ll have to do

is tell me why.

— AC

Leave a Reply

